Restart MPLS process

Moderators: Dante, Sarah

Post Reply
luranius
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 6:29 pm

Restart MPLS process

Post by luranius » Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:18 am

Hi fellow members,

Just checking if there is a command to reset MPLS process? This is a lab environment. For example, if I changed the label range using the command "mpls label range 100 199".

I tried "clear mpls ldp neighbor *" =, it didn't work. Restart the router works though but just wondering if there is a better way?

Thanks in advance :)

AnkitTiwari
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2019 3:41 am

Re: Restart MPLS process

Post by AnkitTiwari » Sat Nov 16, 2019 6:17 am

disable mpls on the interface and reenable it .. it will work.

luranius
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 6:29 pm

Re: Restart MPLS process

Post by luranius » Sat Nov 16, 2019 4:00 pm

Thanks AnkitTiwari for your reply.

Tried it .. no luck. Am I missing anything?

# no mpls ip
..
# mpls ip
Attachments
photo.png
photo.png (164.12 KiB) Viewed 839 times

luke_bromirski
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2019 2:56 am

Re: Restart MPLS process

Post by luke_bromirski » Mon Nov 18, 2019 6:59 am

Well, you can't in IOS, IOS-XE and NX-OS.

In IOS XR you can restart LDP, but the label range allocation is global value set at router boot.

There's enhancement however from 5.3.4, 6.1.2 and 7.0 that in IOS XR moves the label ranges dynamically - but I haven't found anything like that for our other OSes. The enhancement was introduced as part of fixing CSCva43602. You'll need anyway to execute 'clear mpls ldp forwarding' to start allocate labels from new range after change.

Post Reply